Welcome to the Council on Active Transportation

The Council on Active Transportation addresses issues related to bicycle, pedestrian, and other active transportation modes. This website provides an overview about the Council’s work, membership, and upcoming meetings. Practitioners may find the “Resources” section particularly useful and are welcome to contribute any additional information they’d like to include.


Council on Active Transportation members participate in a plenary session at the 2019 National Bike Summit.

From left to right: Vice-Chair Toks Omishakin; Barb Chamberlain; and Charles Glass. Sofie Rhoads moderated. Photo: Anna Bosin

AASHTO Washington Briefing

Chair Leslie Richards and AASHTO President Carlos Braceras met with Rep. DeFazio’s staff during the AASHTO Washington Briefing.

Next Meeting

July 21-26, 2019 – Hotel Reservation bookings available now
Joint Meeting of the AASHTO Council on Active Transportation and Committee on Design (In Collaboration with the TRB Roadside Safety Design Committee) at the Peppermill Reno (Reno, NV). More information, including the link to book hotel rooms for the conference, can be found on the Meetings page.

Chair: Leslie Richards

Secretary, PennDOT

Vice-Chair: Toks Omishakin

Deputy Commissioner/Chief of Environment and Planning, TDOT

AASHTO Liasions

Shannon Eggleston
Program Director for Environment
(202) 624-3649

Sofie Rhoads
Associate Program Manager for Environment
(202) 624-5823